“I am…so you don’t have to be” study lesson 2

This quote really hit me, and is something I wish to remember….“Practically speaking, we are still ‘esteeming Him not’ today by continuing the beating that He has already taken. Some examples of how we do this are: Negative self-talk when we look in the mirror or step on the scale, mentally abusing our own intelligence, nurturing toxic relationships, and engaging in self-destructive behavior are but a few. Remember, thinking lowly of ones self is still thinking of oneself more than God. Reverse pride is still pride and the most dangerous form of idolatry. Ask God to reveal areas in your thought life where He is not being esteemed. If you do not esteem yourself, you are not esteeming Him.”

What is your initial response when anyone suggests you are beautiful?
I scoff.  All I see is the fat, and think of how I looked way back when. I see the scars, I see the cellulite.  I can’t see what they see as attractive, or else I just WON’T look!

Do you find you engage in a lot of negative ‘self-talk’? How much of your thought life does this form of thinking consume?

Somewhat, especially when I am down.  I am bad to have negative self talk when I am upset over something. If I make a mistake, I’m bad to act toward myself as though I am the worst person ever and to continue to beat myself up over it.
I’m not as bad about it as I have been in times past, but it is helped a lot by medication, honestly!

What is the most radical transformation you’ve witnessed in an individual after they were born again? It’s okay to tell about your own!

I was thinking about this just the other day….I haven’t seen it personally, as much as I have seen it in this person’s spouse as she described him.  A little over a year ago, she described him as never spending time with her or their daughter. She didn’t have any desire to have another child with him, because she wasn’t sure that the marriage was even worth staying in.  And then he started opening up and coming to church and Bible studies with her.  He even started attending a Bible study at his work! How their lives have changed….he has asked Christ into his heart, he has shared his faith with others including his own family who have a tendency to be scoffers, and they are now expecting their second child.  Their marriage is stronger than ever! His faith has helped her through having a harder time than expected conceiving and the unexpected death of her step-father, whom she dearly loved.  He has become as much a rock for her as she has been for him!

The imagery of being a City Girl has absolutely changed the way I perceive my worth before God. Does it yours? Will you receive this truth and let it boost your righteous confidence?

It certainly does make you think about yourself differently, doesn’t it? I remember how it felt to be the new girl in a small town and have people pay attention to me, and man, did that feel good! And to think that if I show His spirit in all that I do, others may see me in that light….not because of physical beauty, but because of the peace I convey…yes, I will definitely receive this and let it boost my confidence! As another Bible study I read today said, I am a Masterpiece of God!

0 Responses to ““I am…so you don’t have to be” study lesson 2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

