When life doesn’t work out like you had planned, part 1

1. It was stated in the Lesson that God has made you “once, twice, three times a lady.” Where are you in this progression? Obviously we have all been physically born, but are you ‘twice a lady’? Have you been born again spiritually? This may be a private matter you’d like to discuss confidentially. If so, email me. If you have already received this gift, write a brief prayer of thanksgiving or testimony.

Dear Heavenly Father,
Thank you for Your grace! You have not only saved me for Your purpose but You also saved me from myself. I thank You for loving me in spite of my imperfections, in spite of my shortcomings, in spite of my selfishness.  You are so much greater than I can even begin to imagine, and I thank You for savi
ng ME!

2. Are you three times a lady? Has God given you a stirring deep within your Spirit to be a ‘deliverer’? Do you have a desire or are you already meeting a need in the life of the church, a particular ministry (such as jail ministry, food ministry, etc.) or perhaps individuals who share common issues?

I have recently felt stirrings to lead in our children’s ministries in a different capacity.  Before I had both boys, I served as one of our Youth counselors, and really felt that it was an area of God’s calling me.  But then as my family life changed, I felt God telling me to step back and trust in Him to lead them without my help. I had a hard time following God in this.  I didn’t want to let go.  I thought surely He doesn’t’ mean it, my sister needs me, these kids need me…but God kept persisting until I let go and let Him show me the way.  For a few years, my ministry focused around being the best Mommy to my sons that I could be. But now, God is leading me to focus more on other children in our church who are currently being underserved.  I am excited about this, and we’ll be starting this up soon!

3. Do you ever get tired of waiting for that opportunity to do something
worthwhile for God? Do you ever feel God is using someone else instead of you?

Yes, in the past year or so, I’ve had that feeling.  I have wondered where God wanted me….I felt as though I was just sitting on the sidelines and not really serving Him.  But since then, He has revealed the way that He wishes me to be involved!

4. What do you consider ‘worthwhile ministry’? Are you like me and sometimes find yourself mistakenly thinking it has to be Big to be Important?

As a preacher’s kid, I have always known that the small jobs are just as important, so I knew that worthwhile ministry didn’t have to be big.  Even so, I felt like I needed to do SOMETHING! The key was waiting for God to reveal it to me!

5. Have you ever taken a spiritual gifts test? If yes, what are yours? If no, here’s a good one from Ephesians 4 Ministry. Will you take it and come back with a response? Knowing some of you like I already do, I can almost pick out what your gift is before you say it. I can’t wait to see if I’m right!

Yes, I’ve taken that before! My gifts are in music, children, empathy, and prayer.

2 Responses to “When life doesn’t work out like you had planned, part 1”


  1. 1 Lisa @ The Preacher's Wife February 5, 2008 at 7:36 am

    I wish your sweet heart lived in Alabama! We have lots of people who are willing to help with the kids but no one who wants to take charge. It is truly a calling to pour out our lives to little ones..

    So glad to know you are a PK! It gives me hope that mine are going to turn out great too…:)

    Much love,

    Lisa

  2. 2 Nathan February 7, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I really enjoyed this post. I am fascinated by the idea of people sharing their experiences with the Lord online via blog. Just thought I would let you know that I appreciate it. Best,

    Nathan


Leave a Reply

