Not like I planned–part 2

Can I just tell you that I LOVE this study?! I’m probably gonna get through it pretty quickly from now on because I am giving up at least 10 minutes of things I otherwise enjoy (sleep or internet time) to spend in Bible study and prayer.

So here are some quotes that really hit me with today’s study:

“So in essence, when the Israelites rejected Moses, he then rejected his own self and calling. Is this ringing a bell with anybody!!?”

“The Israelites did not trust this prince of Egypt and they sure did not elect him to act on their behalf. Praise the Lord, man’s rejection will never trump God’s acceptance! A naysayer in your midst will not thwart God’s good intentions in your life to act on His behalf!”

“Can I encourage you in the fact if God can accomplish the cross-country relocation of 2 million people by the obedience of one man, then He is SO ABLE to work out the details of your calling to a good end! The most important thing to remember is even if it is Not Like We Planned, there is never to be a doubt that our outcomes are exactly Like He Planned. We can rest knowing that our God has it covered. ”

“Hebrews 11 is perhaps the most inspiring chapter of the Bible. It beautifully recounts the stories of many men and women to whom God made promises yet they never saw them realized on earth.”

“let it sink in deeply that, just like Christ Jesus, Moses’ ransom was the sacrifice of his very life.”

And now for the discussion questions!

1. I am going to present to you a little acrostic to begin our discussion today. What is your latest NLIP? (Not Like I Planned?)

Our finances are our latest NLIP. I tried to sell Avon to help us out with our bills, but it ended up costing us more. We have gotten ourselves in some credit card debt AGAIN. Despite our best intentions, we HAVE to tighten our belts and get this stuff paid off.

2. How did you react to your NLIP? Are you still upset about it? Happy about it? Baffled by it? Explain.

I’m frustrated by it, but I know how it happened. It is something that we are going to have to make a conscious effort to guard against, but I do believe that with temperance and dedication to the goal of being free(er) from debt, we can do it.

3. Have you ever attempted to step into an area of ministry and found your desire rejected? Did this cause you to question God and yourself? Perhaps distrust what you perceived to be your calling?

Oh YES! I was a summer youth intern for 2 summers and really thought that it was my calling to go into full-time youth ministry. After two bad experiences, I fell into a depression and reconsidered whether or not God wanted me to sacrifice my mental health to please MEN. I was mad at God for letting it happen for some time. I then realized that I could serve just as well in a volunteer capacity, and now God is actually leading me in a different direction.

4. Do you harbor any bitterness towards any individual or situation which you believe waylaid your best laid plans?

Yes, and no. I certainly won’t ever trust those people again, but I can be friendly to them and not get as angry as I used to every time I saw them.

5. Have you had a life experience or trial that left you with a shaken faith because it ended in an NLIP? Please share if you feel free.

Yes, what was stated above, and then it was followed about a year later with a painful breakup of a relationship that I naively thought was ‘the one’. I knew that God was holding me up through it, and even have some very specific times that God had me rely on Him and Him alone, but man….it was hard while I was going through it. It took me several years to get over those blows. Tears well up even now when I think about how hard those life lessons were!

5. Based on Moses’ response of faith to his own rejection, how will you re-evaluate your own experiences or look at future ones differently if a NLIP presents itself?

I need to trust in God’s plan for my life, and for our lives as a family. I need to remind myself that I am not in control, but at the same time, I do need to exercise restraint financially and spend wisely.

Check out the site where I found this!

1 Response to “Not like I planned–part 2”


  1. 1 Chris Moran February 6, 2008 at 9:24 pm

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran


Leave a Reply

